This Little Light Of Mine

light up

We have all heard or have sung this old hymn in church at some point. I have always loved this song and it is one of the few songs that has stuck with me through all of these years. For those who are not familiar with this song or may just need a refresher, here are the lyrics:

“This little light of mine, I’m gonna let it shine.
This little light of mine, I’m gonna let it shine.
This little light of mine, I’m gonna let it shine.
Let it shine, shine, shine. Let it shine!

Everywhere I go, I’m gonna let it shine.
Everywhere I go, I’m gonna let it shine.
Everywhere I go, I’m gonna let it shine.
Let it shine, shine, shine. Let it shine!

This little light of mine, I’m gonna let it shine.
This little light of mine, I’m gonna let it shine.
This little light of mine, I’m gonna let it shine.
Let it shine, shine, shine. Let it shine!

All up in my house, I’m gonna let it shine.
All up in my house, I’m gonna let it shine.
All up in my house, I’m gonna let it shine.
Let it shine, shine, shine. Let it shine!

This little light of mine, I’m gonna let it shine.
This little light of mine, I’m gonna let it shine.
This little light of mine, I’m gonna let it shine.
Let it shine, shine, shine. Let it shine!”

Although, it is such a simple and short song, it actually has a strong and powerful message within it that most overlook; for God created light. In Genisis 1:4 it says:

“And God saw the light, that (It was) good and God divided the light from the darkness.”

As Christians, we have to separate ourselves from the darkness (darkness being sin) and be the light. We have to allow the light within us to outshine the darkness of sin that is sadly taking over the world around us. God gave us not only the precious gift of life, but he gave us His Holy Spirit to dwells with in us in this life. In John 1:5 it says:

“This then is the message which we have heard of him, and declare unto you, that God is light, and in him is no darkness at all.”

God made us in his image and with that being said, we are all meant to play an important role and carry out God’s works and acts of kindness. Not with selfish intentions of gaining wealth, popularity, or any other worldly gifts, but simply for the reason of wanting to be as Christ. Know that if those self centered thoughts begin to creep in, it’s the darkness trying to extinguish your fire.

The devil will try to stop you from carrying out what God has called you to do. He will try to discourage you, throw obstacles in your path, and he will even use some people in your life to come against you. Anything and everything the devil can do, he will! But the good news is that you have the gift of the Holy Spirit (the light) to illuminate through the darkness! Imagine yourself being in a pitch black room and you have a flash light. As soon as you turn the flash light on a beam of light comes out and pierces through the once pitch black room. Spend a part of your day everyday with God and keep the battery charged! That way, you can go into the world and spread the Gospel of Jesus Christ no matter how dark it is out there because you bring the light without. In Matthew 5:14-16 Jesus said:

“Ye are the light of the world. A city that is set on an hill cannot be hid. Neither do men light a candle, and put it under a bushel, but on a candlestick; and it giveth light unto all that are in the house. Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven.”

Basically, in these Bible verses, Jesus is saying that our Heavenly Father lives within us, and when we go out and spread His word, live like Christ, and allow our light to shine, no darkness can prevail because our Lord Jesus is the most powerful, He is almighty.

Let’s look deeper at the verse of the song that states : “All up in my house, I’m gonna let it shine.” Yes, your house is a very important place to serve the Lord! Because, if you are not living righteously behind the closed doors of your home like you are at Church.. something in your life needs to be reevaluated. If you are living righteously, there is no need to contain your light in just your home, go out and spread it! Someone out there is lacking knowledge and truth! Share with them the wonderful and powerful things that the Lord has done for you and let them see what the power (grace) of God can do through you. Be the light!

Submitted by @ Laken Richard

 

One thought on “This Little Light Of Mine

Leave a Reply

