Not Mine

“Being filled with the fruits of righteousness, which are by Jesus Christ, unto the glory and praise of God.” – Philippians 1:11 (KJV)

Paul addresses the church of Philippi in this introduction from prison. While there are many great take-aways in this introduction, I am intrigued by verse 11 in the phrase that says “…which are by Jesus Christ…”

Any sincere, mature, hungry-for-God Christian does understand that we must naturally produce the fruit that is evident of our salvation we already received ONLY by faith. But let’s face it, sometimes doing all the right things can be really difficult in trying times. The hope and key to understanding how any Christian can actually look, act, and speak like Christ, is none other than Christ Himself living those works IN you and THROUGH you. The apostle Paul and Jesus Christ Himself said it best in these verses:

“I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me.” – Galatians 2:20 KJV

“I am the vine, ye are the branches: He that abideth in me, and I in him, the same bringeth forth much fruit: for without me ye can do nothing.” – John 15:5 KJV

Every great man and woman of God in scripture understood that they don’t have it within themselves; only Jesus! The apostle Paul also said this revealing statement in regard to fruit that wasn’t “from him” or “his”

“And be found in him, not having mine own righteousness, which is of the law, but that which is through the faith of Christ, the righteousness which is of God by faith:” – Philippians 3:9 KJV

The desire of any born again believer is to say, “Thank you Lord Jesus for forgiving me of my sin, but Lord help me to abstain from these things that brought me to your altar in the first place.” The grace of our Lord Jesus Christ that saved us, is also the same divine strength that also sustains us in our walk of supernaturally purifying sanctified living. The key is learning not to trust yourself with the spiritual fuel, but trusting God.

“Thus saith the Lord; Cursed be the man that trusteth in man, and maketh flesh his arm, and whose heart departeth from the Lord. For he shall be like the heath in the desert, and shall not see when good cometh; but shall inhabit the parched places in the wilderness, in a salt land and not inhabited. Blessed is the man that trusteth in the Lord, and whose hope the Lord is. For he shall be as a tree planted by the waters, and that spreadeth out her roots by the river, and shall not see when heat cometh, but her leaf shall be green; and shall not be careful in the year of drought, neither shall cease from yielding fruit.” – Jeremiah 17:5-8 KJV

As we are divinely empowered by His grace, it’s time for us to passionately choose what is right, and to boldly reject what is wrong!

Prayer:

Lord Jesus, forgive me, and equip me to do your will in my life. I cannot do this on my own; I NEED you! Thank you Jesus!!!

Leave a Reply

