O My God, I Trust in You!

prayer

“O my God, I trust in thee: let me not be ashamed, let not mine enemies triumph over me.” -Psalms 25:2

It’s no secret that all the contributors to the book of Psalms at some point, and in many accounts fell into distresses, turmoils, and trials. The one thing that stands strong however, is their unwaivering trust they all had in the Lord their God! They knew that no matter what was to befall their path, the Lord will direct them.

Having considerable amount of examples of scripture to use in which every author, every patriarch, had considerable opportunities to trust the Lord through the impossible, (or at least what seemed to be impossible), the Psalms stood out to me in its quantity, quality, and simplicity. The 25th chapter continues in this light:

Mine eyes are ever toward the Lord; for he shall pluck my feet out of the net. Turn thee unto me, and have mercy upon me; for I am desolate and afflicted. The troubles of my heart are enlarged: O bring thou me out of my distresses. Look upon mine affliction and my pain; and forgive all my sins. Consider mine enemies; for they are many; and they hate me with cruel hatred. O keep my soul, and deliver me: let me not be ashamed; for I put my trust in thee. Let integrity and uprightness preserve me; for I wait on thee. Redeem Israel, O God, out of all his troubles. -Psalms 25:15-22

Today, the Lord is directing me in this topic to greater revelation. Sometimes it’s easy for me to get over anxious, worried, or fearful, but when we learn to put our trust in the one who made the heavens and the earth, it’s not so fearful. You see because God cannot lie, any and every word the Lord has given us through scripture, you can rest assured He will accomplish. Some of course come through conditions as we see throughout the Word, however, when we fulfill those conditions (examples: turn to, trust, repent, keep the covenant, fear the Lord, etc.) God is faithful to His Word & His promises!

“Know therefore that the LORD thy God, he [is] God, the faithful God, which keepeth covenant and mercy with them that love him and keep his commandments to a thousand generations” -Deuteronomy 7:9

“But the Lord is faithful, who shall stablish you, and keep [you] from evil.” -2 Thessalonians 3:3

“God [is] faithful, by whom ye were called unto the fellowship of his Son Jesus Christ our Lord.” -1 Corinthians 1:9

In times of heart-ache, persecution, slander, financial distress,… no matter what the obstacle, don’t give up, don’t let go, don’t lose trust, don’t lose hope! Another favorite of the Psalms in this light is this:

“I will say of the Lord, He is my refuge and my fortress: my God; in him will I trust. Surely he shall deliver thee from the snare of the fowler, and from the noisome pestilence. He shall cover thee with his feathers, and under his wings shalt thou trust: his truth shall be thy shield and buckler. Thou shalt not be afraid for the terror by night; nor for the arrow that flieth by day; Nor for the pestilence that walketh in darkness; nor for the destruction that wasteth at noonday. A thousand shall fall at thy side, and ten thousand at thy right hand; but it shall not come nigh thee. Only with thine eyes shalt thou behold and see the reward of the wicked. Because thou hast made the Lord, which is my refuge, even the most High, thy habitation;” -Psalms 91:2-9

If any scripture to memorize, it’s this:

“Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.” -Proverbs 3:5-6

The Lord is faithful, and near to a broken and contrite heart. So when you find yourself if fear or distress, turn to the Lord and trust Him and His Word! Listen to this song and let it encourage you!

Leave a Reply

