When God Proves His Approval

6dec682a413778663603312bdbdc08ee“Alexander the coppersmith did me much evil: the Lord reward him according to his works: Of whom be thou ware also; for he hath greatly withstood our words. At my first answer no man stood with me, but all men forsook me: I pray God that it may not be laid to their charge. Notwithstanding the Lord stood with me, and strengthened me; that by me the preaching might be fully known, and that all the Gentiles might hear: and I was delivered out of the mouth of the lion. And the Lord shall deliver me from every evil work, and will preserve me unto his heavenly kingdom: to whom be glory for ever and ever. Amen.” – 2 Timothy‬ ‭4:14-18‬ ‭

This is a very interesting account. That of a man named “Alexander”, who opposes the Apostle Paul. He stirred up everyone against him to the point that, at first, no one believed Paul’s words, and all took Alexander’s side.

However, though no man was on Paul’s side, God was and God has a way of defending, vindicating, and validating His own. It does not matter if all of mens words rise up against the will, word, or work of God that is coming through you, if you stay faithful, humble, and prayerful for your accusers, God will not only prove their error while validating your actions and His will with power, but He will also use it all to expose and or humble the prideful through your humility.

“For the kingdom of God is not in word, but in power.” – 1 Corinthians‬ ‭4:20‬

‭ You see, the name, “Alexander” actually means “man defender“. So while Alexander stirred men to defend other men (as well as the ways of men), Paul (who’s name means “small, little, least, or humble“) chose only to defend the Word of God, therefore the God of the Word chose to defend him that he might continue to do the work and will of God. So in all opposition, choose to stand humbly with God and He will stand boldly with you. Remembering always to pray for those who oppose you, because when you are opposed for doing God’s will it is truly God who is being opposed through you, and not you yourself.

“And now I say unto you, Refrain from these men, and let them alone: for if this counsel or this work be of men, it will come to nought: But if it be of God, ye cannot overthrow it; lest haply ye be found even to fight against God.” – Acts‬ ‭5:38-39‬

‭ In the end, because of Paul’s faithfulness to stand firm on (and obedient to) the word of God, as well as his humility before others, not only did God defend him and prove him to others, but through it all God proved His approval of Paul to Paul himself… increasing his faith.

“Alexander the coppersmith did me much evil: the Lord reward him according to his works: Of whom be thou ware also; for he hath greatly withstood our words. At my first answer no man stood with me, but all men forsook me: I pray God that it may not be laid to their charge. Notwithstanding the Lord stood with me, and strengthened me; that by me the preaching might be fully known, and that all the Gentiles might hear: and I was delivered out of the mouth of the lion. And the Lord shall deliver me from every evil work, and will preserve me unto his heavenly kingdom: to whom be glory for ever and ever. Amen.” – 2 Timothy‬ ‭4:14-18‬ ‭

2 thoughts on “When God Proves His Approval

  1. Hi this is amazing. Many times I think that if I stand up for the truth then God will not vindicate me. There are many things that people have failed to stand up against because of the fear of standing alone. I am in a situation where a lie has been twisted and used against me. I stood up and I am still standing. This blog has given me great encouragement. You are a blessing to me. Richard

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you. The Lord told me to write this, so surely He wants to encourage you. Faith comes by hearing, and hearing by the word of God. So now that you have heard the word, you can have full faith in it and be at peace. The Lord has spoken, he will defend you. 🙂 Be encouraged and have faith.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

