Look Up Weary Runner!

imageThese thoughts came to me while running today. I always have better breathing when I extend my neck and look upward. I realized that it is the same in our spiritual walk, or else we become exhausted. The Bible says to set our affection on things above. I also realize that if I look I down at the ground around me, I lose balance as well as not getting as good of air flow. So all in all, up is best. Up, I feel it. In my best moments in the run, I am always with my face toward the heavens. So today, this verses jump into my heart…

“If ye then be risen with Christ, seek those things which are above, where Christ sitteth on the right hand of God. Set your affection on things above, not on things on the earth.” – Colossians 3:1-2

See, on a good run. I am mindful of my breathing, it’s no coincidence that with my head up, face up, chest out, I get the best airflow, letting me keep running, but today.. Today I felt it extra, it was a message to me. It’s all about the up. The above.

The run isn’t always about the run at all, but as in every situation, the word finds a way to place itself in the picture, because God is alive in every place, every moment, all our pass times. His presence constantly delivers messages to our hearts. At work or play, He is their talking to us.

Prayer:
Lord, make us more aware of Your presents. Opening our eyes to what the message is that You are speaking to us in these everyday moments. There’s no coincidences Lord. Just Your voice speaking to us and Your hand working all things together. Help us to keep our eyes fixed on You in all that we do.

“For our light affliction, which is but for a moment, worketh for us a far more exceeding and eternal weight of glory; While we look not at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen: for the things which are seen are temporal; but the things which are not seen are eternal.” – 2 Corinthians‬ ‭4:17-18‬ ‭

“Wherefore seeing we also are compassed about with so great a cloud of witnesses, let us lay aside every weight, and the sin which doth so easily beset us, and let us run with patience the race that is set before us, Looking unto Jesus the author and finisher of our faith; who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is set down at the right hand of the throne of God. For consider him that endured such contradiction of sinners against himself, lest ye be wearied and faint in your minds.” – Hebrews‬ ‭12:1-3‬ ‭

So Don’t look down anymore, it’s why you keep losing balance. Keep your eyes fixed on things above, not on things below. No matter what, always look up to more instantly more easily stay balanced, both physically and spiritually.

Submitted by @ Amelia Barr

‬‬

Leave a Reply

