A “Doctored” Spouse

“Lord, in trouble have they visited thee, they poured out a prayer when thy chastening was upon them.”‭‭Isaiah‬ ‭26:16‬

It’s kind of sad really, when you think about how most times it’s our trials & trouble that push us into our prayer closet and not His tremendous blessings and amazing love… It’s unfortunate, but we mostly see Him more as a doctor to “fix us when needed”, and not a faithful, loving husband who would anticipate consistent intimacy solely for the mere fact of experiencing deep love with one another. Doctors are good, yes, but as a husband I don’t have to be a doctor to take care of my bride. So if we see God as simply a doctor and nothing more (whether we admit it or not), we truly limit our encounters and experiences with Him in deep intimacy. Example: I can see a doctor when I’m sick, but when cured, I leave the hospital and that’s the end of the story. However, when I have an ailment that arises in our marriage, (not a visited hospital), my wife is happily obliging to my need/request due to our committed, previous history’s intimacy. And the best part? After sickness passes, the intimacy continues, and I have a lasting relationship that goes far beyond the “fix me when needed” approach.

“The Lord thy God in the midst of thee is mighty; he will save, he will rejoice over thee with joy; he will rest in his love, he will joy over thee with singing.” ‭‭Zephaniah‬ ‭3:17‬

“O God, thou art my God; early will I seek thee: my soul thirsteth for thee, my flesh longeth for thee in a dry and thirsty land, where no water is; To see thy power and thy glory, so as I have seen thee in the sanctuary. Because thy lovingkindness is better than life, my lips shall praise thee. Thus will I bless thee while I live: I will lift up my hands in thy name. My soul shall be satisfied as with marrow and fatness; and my mouth shall praise thee with joyful lips: When I remember thee upon my bed, and meditate on thee in the night watches. Because thou hast been my help, therefore in the shadow of thy wings will I rejoice. My soul followeth hard after thee: thy right hand upholdeth me.”‭‭ Psalms‬ ‭63:1-8‬

I firmly believe the call of the Lord for those of you reading this now is to firstly repent if the Lord has been isolated to a prayer closet that has become nothing more than an “emergency room,” and secondly give thanks to God the Father for providing His only Son, a spouse with credentials far beyond healing our physical frame or current circumstances, but our spiritual frame and position as well!

Prayer: Lord teach me intimacy with you. When I don’t have the words to speak, fill my mouth with your words, my heart with your desires, my mind with your thoughts; make me to be completely whom you have desired for me to be! In Jesus Name, Amen!

Leave a Reply

