A Beggar’s Prayer

2000-mary-magdalene_5It’s a blessing to know you ARE a beggar at the feet of God, and it doesn’t annoy Him. I always say this happily, because in my eyes I feel like their is no shame in being this sort of beggar!! We are dust. So beg on, dust!! God hears.

“For he knoweth our frame; he remembereth that we are dust.” – Psalm 103:14

Their is a huge comfort in  this to me, knowing that my constant pursuit isn’t a nuisance to God. As people grow annoyed with others, and they whisper behind their back, they mock and belittle the character of others. For what? I’m telling you it is so comforting to my soul to know that God doesn’t get tired of my prayers or belittle me when I come before him begging again and again. I keep going, I’m not going to stop, and neither should you! Pursue Him with the idea that He loves you and already knows why your sad or what your needs are, and isn’t going to mock or belittle you like people sometimes do.

“…a broken and a contrite heart, O God, thou wilt not despise.” -Psalm 51:17

We have to keep going to that begging place! He is the only one who can truly understand our needs. Without any misunderstanding by words and without a response to belittle your character because “oh that child is so aggravating.” Actually, instead, HE just GETS IT! He “gets” you. Even before we ask??

“…your Father knoweth what things ye have need of, before ye ask him.” – Matthew 6:8

And he cares!

“Casting all your care upon him; for he careth for you.” – 1 Peter 5:7

Don’t be ashamed to beg in prayer! I came across a poem this morning that I would like to share with you. Iit is one of those “amen” kinda things, like “YES I see this, and yes this is true,
True to a T”!

Here is the poem…

Encouraged by thy word
Of promise to the poor;
Behold, a beggar, LORD,
Waits at thy Mercy’s door!
No hand, no heart, O LORD, but thine,
Can help or pity wants like mine.
Thy thoughts, thou only wise!
Our thoughts and ways transcend,
Far as the arched skies
Above the earth extend:
Such pleas as mine men would not bear,
But God receives a beggars prayer.

Submitted by @ Amelia Barr

Leave a Reply

