The Lord Is My Strength

10532-the-lord-is-my-strength“Then there came again and touched me one like the appearance of a man, and he strengthened me, And said, O man greatly beloved, fear not: peace be unto thee, be strong, yea, be strong. And when he had spoken unto me, I was strengthened, and said, Let my lord speak; for thou hast strengthened me.” – Daniel‬ ‭10:18-19‬ ‭

Let’s face it, there’s a war on for the souls of men and we all get weary along the way. Yet, I find the most wearying of actions is the fight to find the strength to continue the fight. It’s a downward spiral of exertion that leads to exhaustion, chaos, confusion, discouragement, and failure. The problem comes when we look for strength in ourselves, wisdom in our understanding, and answers in our abilities. It’s a laboring search that yields unfruitful results that serve only to confuse and weary us further. The funny thing is that those we consider the greatest among us (such as the patriarchs of scripture) never did this. Instead they broke down before God, acknowledged their frailty, weakness, inabilities, exhaustion, and lack of understanding; and God strengthened them.

“But he himself went a day’s journey into the wilderness, and came and sat down under a juniper tree: and he requested for himself that he might die; and said, It is enough; now, O Lord, take away my life; for I am not better than my fathers… And the angel of the Lord came again the second time, and touched him, and said, Arise and eat; because the journey is too great for thee. And he arose, and did eat and drink, and went in the strength of that meat forty days and forty nights unto Horeb the mount of God.” ‭‭1 Kings‬ ‭19:4, 7-8‬ ‭

72a5c881e1e698f1ea36befe19aefce6When we try to figure things out our self, work things out our self, and walk things out our self, we will inevitably and assuredly fail. For our strength, understanding, and power is very limited. However, the God in whom we serve is all seeing, all knowing, omnipotent, omnipresent, and all powerful. What is impossible for men is possible for God. It’s just that sometimes we have to come to the end of our selves, (the end of our own strength, wisdom, and power) before we finally humble ourselves and ask for His. Yet when we do, we are refreshed and reminded that He is God and we are not and with God all things are possible, for He is stronger, smarter, and more able then we could ever hope to be. However, we will never fully be able to see His strength until we first are able to see our weakness. This is why His strength is made perfect in our weakness, for only when we stop trusting in our own power can we truly start trusting His. Therefore, humble before God, rejoice in tribulation rather then fretting over it and ask Him to lead, guide, correct, direct, strengthen, and empower you through it; and I assure you He will! Remember that man’s weakest hour is God’s hour of power.

“But he giveth more grace. Wherefore he saith, God resisteth the proud, but giveth grace unto the humble.” – James‬ ‭4:6‬ ‭

“Ask, and it shall be given you; seek, and ye shall find; knock, and it shall be opened unto you: For every one that asketh receiveth; and he that seeketh findeth; and to him that knocketh it shall be opened.” – Matthew‬ ‭7:7-8‬ ‭

“Like as a father pitieth his children, so the Lord pitieth them that fear him. For he knoweth our frame; he remembereth that we are dust.” – Psalms‬ ‭103:13-14‬ ‭

“And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me. Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in necessities, in persecutions, in distresses for Christ’s sake: for when I am weak, then am I strong.” – 2 Corinthians‬ ‭12:9-10‬ ‭

“But Jesus beheld them, and said unto them, With men this is impossible; but with God all things are possible.” – Matthew‬ ‭19:26‬ ‭

“Blessed be the Lord, because he hath heard the voice of my supplications. The Lord is my strength and my shield; my heart trusted in him, and I am helped: therefore my heart greatly rejoiceth; and with my song will I praise him. The Lord is their strength, and he is the saving strength of his anointed.” – Psalms‬ ‭28:6-8‬ ‭

Leave a Reply

