In The Garden With God

jesuschrist_walking_ingarden_freecomputerdesktopwallpaper_1440“Awake, O north wind; and come, thou south; blow upon my garden, that the spices thereof may flow out. Let my beloved come into his garden, and eat his pleasant fruits.” – Song of Solomon‬ ‭4:16‬ ‭

When I read this verse the old humble hymnal comes to mind, “In The Garden“. A sweet song of spending time in the secret place of prayer seeking God, waiting on Him to show up, talking and walking with Him once He does, and hanging on every word He says there like that of a precious lover.

We all have a spiritual garden, some have hard dry barren ground to whom God says:

“Sow to yourselves in righteousness, reap in mercy; break up your fallow ground: for it is time to seek the Lord, till he come and rain righteousness upon you. Ye have plowed wickedness, ye have reaped iniquity; ye have eaten the fruit of lies: because thou didst trust in thy way, in the multitude of thy mighty men.” – Hosea‬ ‭10:12-13‬ ‭

Some have, for a lack of seeking, followed the traditions of men and planted seeds that have grown and yielded plants with no fruit that are of no use but to take up space, therefore they are cut down and cast into the fire.

“Every tree that bringeth not forth good fruit is hewn down, and cast into the fire.” – Matthew‬ ‭7:19‬ ‭

“If a man abide not in me, he is cast forth as a branch, and is withered; and men gather them, and cast them into the fire, and they are burned.” – John‬ ‭15:6‬ ‭

Some have labored hard to plant and even cultivate beautiful gardens that produced healthy plants, yet no one ever caught wind of their pleasant fragrance. For the wind never blew upon it.

“And when he had said this, he blew on them, and saith unto them, Receive ye the Holy Ghost:” – John‬ ‭20:22‬ ‭

“The wind bloweth where it listeth, and thou hearest the sound thereof, but canst not tell whence it cometh, and whither it goeth: so is every one that is born of the Spirit.” – John‬ ‭3:8‬ ‭

I want a garden planted in diligence, cultivated in obedience, pruned in righteousness, blooming with praise, and sending forth the fragrance of prayer. But what good is all of that if all the delights thereof stay in the garden alone? Therefor, after many a sweet conversations walking and talking with my beloved in this secret garden, when the seeds I have sown are in full bloom releasing their pure fragrance of prayer to the heavens. I ask my beloved, “send the wind of Your Holy Spirit from the north and from the south to blow upon the garden that the fragrance thereof may flow out and the seeds thereof be spread abroad.” After all, this is an exact image of the New Testament Church. Jesus sowed His word into the hearts of the disciples, cultivated their growth with teaching as they walked and talked with Him daily, then once matured, He told them to pray (send forth their fragrance), and wait for the Holy Spirit which came as a mighty rushing wind that spread the fragrance of their prayers and the seeds of the gospel far and wide.

“And when the day of Pentecost was fully come, they were all with one accord in one place. And suddenly there came a sound from heaven as of a rushing mighty wind, and it filled all the house where they were sitting. And there appeared unto them cloven tongues like as of fire, and it sat upon each of them. And they were all filled with the Holy Ghost, and began to speak with other tongues, as the Spirit gave them utterance.” – Acts‬ ‭2:1-4‬ ‭

Even the ministry of Jesus Himself was brought to the perfection of ripeness in it’s perfect season that it might be spread to the world as He prayed and communed with God… in the garden, The Garden of Gethsemane. For man fell in a garden, therefore is man redeemed in a garden that he might once again walk and talk with God there (Gen 3:8).

Prayer: Lord I want all these holy and pleasing elements in my spiritual garden. I want it to flourish for You, to produce much good fruit for Your pleasure and glory, to be pruned of worldliness and weed free of unrighteousness. I want it to be a pleasant place that You would desire to come and walk and talk with me there daily and call me Your beloved. I want it to bloom with praise and send forth a fragrance of prayer that reaches the heavenlys that is so pleasant to Your nostrils that it pleases Your heart to fan the fragrance thereof far and wide by the mighty rushing wind of Your Holy Spirit.

“Awake, O north wind; and come, thou south; blow upon my garden, that the spices thereof may flow out. Let my beloved come into his garden, and eat his pleasant fruits.” – Song of Solomon‬ ‭4:16‬ ‭

In The Garden

I come to the garden alone,
While the dew is still on the roses,
And the voice I hear falling on my ear
The Son of God discloses.

And He walks with me,
and He talks with me,
And He tells me I am His own;
And the joy we share as we tarry there,
None other has ever known.

He speaks, and the sound of His voice
Is so sweet the birds hush their singing,
And the melody that He gave to me
Within my heart is ringing.

I’d stay in the garden with Him,
Though the night around me be falling,
But He bids me go; through the voice of woe
His voice to me is calling.

 

Leave a Reply

