Love Letters To God

dear-god-3Sometimes as Christians we can get so caught up in the mechanics of serving God that we forget to love God and His people. This was Martha’s problem. She labored to do everything “she” thought would impress Jesus, even becoming self-righteous about it and bitter at Mary for not adhering to her idea of what was right. This grew within her to the point of utter disdain for Mary, causing her to actually begin to cry out to Jesus against her own sister. Yet His reply stunned and humbled Martha, as He rebuked her for her misplaced bitterness and exposed the self-righteousness of her own heart unto repentance. In replying to her petition, Jesus States that though it may not have seemed so in Martha’s eyes using her own understanding of what’s right and important, Mary was actually doing the right thing. For she was waiting at Jesus’s feet, hanging on every perfect and righteous word and instruction that fell from His lips like a love struck youth.

“Now it came to pass, as they went, that he entered into a certain village: and a certain woman named Martha received him into her house. And she had a sister called Mary, which also sat at Jesus’ feet, and heard his word. But Martha was cumbered about much serving, and came to him, and said, Lord, dost thou not care that my sister hath left me to serve alone? bid her therefore that she help me. And Jesus answered and said unto her, Martha, Martha, thou art careful and troubled about many things: But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her.” – Luke‬ ‭10:38-42‬ ‭

It’s so easy to become Martha, so caught up in trusting in our own works to impress God that we begin to love them (and ourselves for doing them) more then we love the one we are suppose to be doing them for. When there is no love for God, our fire goes out and there can be no love for the people of God either. And when there is no love for the people of God, the devil will use us against them and we will think that we are doing God service, when really we are asking Him to do us a service, as Martha did.

So how do we avoid becoming Martha’s? Or how do we come back to being Mary’s once we realize that we have strayed over to Martha’s camp? Spend time at Jesus’s feet. Not telling Him what to do and who to do it to, but simply loving and listening and loving to listen.

“Incline your ear, and come unto me: hear, and your soul shall live; and I will make an everlasting covenant with you, even the sure mercies of David.” – Isaiah‬ ‭55:3‬ ‭

Take some time to switch roles today. Praise God for all of His goodness, wisdom, love, mercy, justice, and righteousness. Meditate on His faithfulness, omnipotence, and grace. Then sit down and write a love letter to God, and see how He replies.

This is my love letter to God today, inspired by Job who still sat at God’s feet praising and pouring out his heart of love for God as it mixed with his tears of broken pain and anguish. He truly loved God more then anything and proved it by loving Him in-spite of loosing everything. I pray that it inspire you to write your own love letter to God to tell Him how much above all of earthly gain He means to you.

“Thou You slay me, yet will I serve You. Though you ruin me, yet will I praise! Though you curse me with cursings, still will I bow down. For You are my everything. No man can compare. No reward, entice. No desire outweigh the weight of my burden of Love for You. I am Yours, Lord. Take all of me and leave nothing for the enemy of my soul. Though none be faithful, yet will my love be faithful unto thee. Let it bring joy to Your soul that, if in all the world it be only me, I determine to give my whole heart to thee, and pray that it pleases and eases the aching heart of my Sovereign Lord and King. I love You Jesus! My hope, my salvation, my joy of life. No love shall ever usurp or compare to my love for You. O Might King of Glory, be ye glorified!” – Marandia Wright

One thought on “Love Letters To God

  1. Thank you. It is so true!
    “How I love you Lord! You are my everything. You give me good things, you protect me. Even in my worst times, You are there for me. I can trust You because You are who You say You are, You are Loyal, You are Faithful, You are Trustworthy, You are strong. You are love! Yes! You are love. Thank you Lord for every blessing. Thank you for everything, good or bad that comes over my path, because You know what is best for me and I know I can trust You. I love You, Lord!”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

