The Greatest In The Kingdom Of God

2000-mary-magdalene_5“For I am the least of the apostles, that am not meet to be called an apostle, because I persecuted the church of God. But by the grace of God I am what I am: and his grace which was bestowed upon me was not in vain; but I laboured more abundantly than they all: yet not I, but the grace of God which was with me.” – 1 Corinthians 15:9-10

There are three main aspects to the word “grace“. 1.) God’s Favor. 2.) God’s Power. 3.) God’s Divine Influence to live holy and walk out His will. James 4:6 tells us that God gives more grace to the humble. The more humble we are the more God favors us, is able to influence us, and is willing to entrust His power to us.

Let’s face it though, we all have “stuff” that we have gone through that makes us feel unworthy of God’s good grace. Paul was no different. Paul, prior to his salvation experience was a persecutor of Christians. A wicked man with the blood of the saints on his hands. Because of this he states that he feels that he is the least fit to be an Apostle of God.

At this point Paul could have done as many do, and decided to reject God’s grace declaring himself too wicked, broken, or damaged to be saved and missed all that God had for him. Because you see, to believe that your own wickedness, or the enemies influence over you is stronger then God or His Grace is a prideful lie born in the heart of Satan himself.

Paul on the other hand, having the blinding scales of deception removed from his eyes both physically and spiritually, saw it all for exactly what it was and allowed the whole situation to humbled him all the more and allow for an even greater measure of God’s grace (favor, power, and influence) to fall upon him then most. Because he knew he was the least worthy, he chose to receive anyway and be the most grateful, the least wasteful, the most faithful, and believe that God is big enough to make the least of these the greatest in the kingdom of God.

“And Jesus, perceiving the thought of their heart, took a child, and set him by him, And said unto them, Whosoever shall receive this child in my name receiveth me: and whosoever shall receive me receiveth him that sent me: for he that is least among you all, the same shall be great.” – Luke 9:47-48

“For I am the least of the apostles, that am not meet to be called an apostle, because I persecuted the church of God. But by the grace of God I am what I am: and his grace which was bestowed upon me was not in vain; but I laboured more abundantly than they all: yet not I, but the grace of God which was with me.” – 1 Corinthians 15:9-10

“And whosoever shall exalt himself shall be abased; and he that shall humble himself shall be exalted.” – Matthew 23:12

“So the last shall be first, and the first last: for many be called, but few chosen.” – Matthew 20:16

2 thoughts on “The Greatest In The Kingdom Of God

  1. Pingback: The Least In His Kindom | BBlessedBeyondRecognition

Leave a Reply

