Letting God Shine Through You In A Dark World

IMG_2378-1“My brethren, count it all joy when ye fall into diverse temptations: Knowing this, that the trying of your faith worketh patience. But let patience have her perfect work, that ye may be perfect and entire, wanting nothing.” – James 1:2-4

“The Lord shall fight for you, and ye shall hold your peace.” – Exodus 14:14

“And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.” – Romans 8:28

This is something that recently happened to me and I think it’s important for me to share it with you. On my job there was this guy, a coworker who has a very bad attitude. One day my boss made me work with him because no one else could put up with his attitude. It was difficult to work with him even for me so one morning an older coworker told me that when the guy acts up to just fight him spiritually.

I really didn’t say anything to this and just went about my work. But while I was working with this coworker who had the bad attitude, he got mad and cursed me out none stop, saying that he was going to mess me over and get me fired. Then he called my boss and said all kinds of ugly things but when he put his phone back in his pocket he either didn’t hang it up or it called the boss back on its own. So my boss heard everything he said to me, how he cursed me and said he was going to get me fired, but all I said was, “Jesus loves you and we are going to have a good day”. I wanted to hit him, but I remembered what my older coworker said, to fight him spiritually.

So when we got back to the job site, my boss he called me in to his office and told me that he had heard everything the guy said to me and asked if I wanted to do something about it. I told him that I had forgiven and forgotten about it and not to do anything. My boss said, “you are a good man”, to which I replied, “I am a Christian, that’s all”.

Well the next day the coworker with the bad attitude got in a fight with a foreman and cursed him out. The foreman, in his frustration told the man that he couldn’t talk to people that way and the only reason he even still had a job was because of me, because I could have had him fired but didn’t. So with that, he came to me and said he was sorry. At this point I simply told him that I never got mad and forgave him as soon as he had said those things to me. All I did was pray for him and chose my words wisely with love.

The next day we were at work and my older coworker with great wisdom said to the guy with the bad attitude, “everything you do in the dark will eventually be brought to light”. Not long after that the bad attitude guy said that he got sick and had to go home, and left. Then all of a sudden some people came to us saying they got word that everyone was doing drugs and we all had to be drug tested. Will it didn’t take long before we found out who told them that lie. The coworker with the bad attitude of course. He was making good on his word and trying to get us fired. So with that, my boss said that he had had enough of him and was going to fire him and he was going to put me in his position.

A week before, this coworker with the bad attitude said he was going to get me fired and I did nothing but follow the Holy Spirit, doing everything with love, humility, compassion, and wisdom. A week later he was fired and I had his job with a pay raise.

“Likewise, ye younger, submit yourselves unto the elder. Yea, all of you be subject one to another, and be clothed with humility: for God resisteth the proud, and giveth grace to the humble. Humble yourselves therefore under the mighty hand of God, that he may exalt you in due time: Casting all your care upon him; for he careth for you.” – 1 Peter 5:5-7

Furthermore, besides God rewarding me with both physical and spiritual promotion for following the Holy Spirit and not my flesh, everyone else at work also saw how I handled it all with love. I let the light of God shine through me in a dark situation and the witness of it served to built the faith of others, humbled and blessed their hearts, and glorified God. Even I didn’t understand it at the time. I wanted to punch him in the face but I remembered what my older coworker said, “fight him spiritually”. So instead I just told him how much Jesus loves him and God fought for me and brought everything he did to light.

“The Lord shall fight for you, and ye shall hold your peace.” – Exodus 14:14

“But I say unto you, Love your enemies, bless them that curse you, do good to them that hate you, and pray for them which despitefully use you, and persecute you; That ye may be the children of your Father which is in heaven: for he maketh his sun to rise on the evil and on the good, and sendeth rain on the just and on the unjust. For if ye love them which love you, what reward have ye? do not even the publicans the same? And if ye salute your brethren only, what do ye more than others? do not even the publicans so?  Be ye therefore perfect, as even as your Father which is in heaven is perfect” – Matthew 5:44-48

 Submitted by @ Malachi Mayeux
One thought on “Letting God Shine Through You In A Dark World

  1. Pingback: Letting God Shine Through You In A Dark World – JesusChrist Follower

Leave a Reply

