The Voice Of The Shepherd

sheep-following-shepherdJohn 10:27. 27 My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me:

We’ve all read or heard this verse before but what does that really mean. In older times everyone understood this but not as much today because so few people raise sheep now. Well, I have raised and tended sheep for many years and this is what God showed me.

I had a baby sheep that was born with bad eye sight. This sheep had to be bottle fed for a while to help it get started in life. However, when it came time for it to get off the bottle and start eating on his own, it just wouldn’t do it. The little sheep would not get off the bottle and seek hardier food so it could get stronger and would starve unless I came and put that bottle in his mouth. He just did not want to get off of the milk. How many Christians do we know like that?

I tried to make this little sheep eat grass and feed constantly, to no avail. So one day I put three baby sheep that were already eating feed and grass with him and not long after that he was eating feed and grass too. If Christians want to grow and move into the deeper things of God they have to be with more mature Christians, spiritually older and wiser.

Then one day I was calling my sheep to come in but the one with bad eyes stayed out in the pasture, so I thought he could not see me, but one day I was feeding my sheep some old vegetables from my garden and the sheep with bad eyes saw me from a long way and came. So I knew he saw me from a long distance away but was only coming to me when he wanted something. How many Christians do we know like that? Only coming to God when they need or want something?

When moving my sheep from pasture to barn, the one with the bad eyes would walk along the fence to get to the barn but this way was an unnecessarily long way around so I tried to make him walk a different path, a better path that I could see but he couldn’t. How many Christians do we know like that? Doing the same thing that they know, something that worked for them in the past so they do it over and over again, instead of following God’s lead when he tries to show them a better way.

Finally I get this little blind sheep to start walking the path that I told him to walk. Then one day while he is walking it slowly, being not to sure about it yet, he gets close to the barn he runs ahead of me and runs to the barn but the door is locked so he does not know what to do and he runs everywhere in a panic trying to figure it out on his own and only causing more problems. How many Christians do we know like that? People walking with God but as soon as they see what God’s plan is they run ahead of God and go to places that the door was not open. Moving before God’s time, before God had everything ready?

So the moral of the story is this, don’t be a blind sheep! Hear God’s voice, run to Jesus, walk with Him, don’t run ahead of Him and His plans, and go to the doors He opens for you and you can’t go wrong.

“I am the good shepherd, and know my sheep, and am known of mine. As the Father knoweth me, even so know I the Father: and I lay down my life for the sheep. And other sheep I have, which are not of this fold: them also I must bring, and they shall hear my voice; and there shall be one fold, and one shepherd.” – John 10:14-16

Submitted by @ Malachi Mayeux

One thought on “The Voice Of The Shepherd

  1. I have once visited a farm in the Richtersveld, a desert region in South Africa, bordering Namibia. The farmer had a large herd of goats and Damara sheep, guarded by a rather vicious-looking dog with a vile temperament.

    The farmer’s son will open the farm gate in the morning and the dog will start walking. One by one, the goats and sheep will begin to follow. The dog is unsightly, not something that likes to be petted, but it will kill every hyena or desert wolf, jackal or caracal that could possibly want to prey on the livestock. The herd obeys his bark and he never needs to round them up. They trust and they obey.

    How many Christians know to do that? Even when Jesus is intimidating as we see in Matthew 23, there is no reason not to trust or obey Him.

    Marandia, your little blind sheep is a lovely bleating, stumbling, head-banging little sermon that made me chuckle but also wanted to make me cry, as your observation about Christianity is spot-on.

    Thanks for an excellent post! be blessed beyond recognition, as always, and may our Lord bless your ministry and also erect someone with financial means to support you and provide in your material needs. This is what I have prayed for over the past few weeks, that our Lord really comes through for your house in terms of paying the bills and putting food on the table.

    Like

Leave a Reply

