First Words Of The Risen Christ

the-risen-christMary Magdalene was at the tomb and Jesus’ body was not there. She was weeping. Two angels asked her, ” Why are you weeping?” They knew something she didn’t.

The resurrected Jesus walks up to Mary and says her name. When she recognizes Him she reaches for Him. Then He says His first recorded words after being raised from the dead.

“Mary, do not cling to Me, for I have not yet ascended to My Father, but go to My brethren and say to them, “I am ascending to My Father and your Father, and to My God and your God.” – (John 20:17)

I love that Jesus announces that His Father is now their Father as well. Jesus has accomplished His mission- reconciling those who believe back to God in such a complete way that we who believe can truly call Him Father.

And all things are of God, who hath reconciled us to himself by Jesus Christ…”- 2 Corinthians 5:18

Submitted by @ Todd Trahan

Leave a Reply

