The Wisdom Of Learning To Listen

j0439453-teens-talking“Wherefore, my beloved brethren, let every man be swift to hear, slow to speak…” – James‬ ‭1‬:‭19‬

I couldn’t help but drop my head and smile as I heard David Wilkerson recall a story that was all to familiar to me. He told of when a young man came into his office and sat down before him. Wilkerson, being wise and experienced as he was, thought,  “he needs my advise and council”, so he began pouring into the young man all the instructions, wisdom, and insight his experiences had afforded him. After about an hour of the young man quietly sitting there listening to Wilkerson, he said, “you’re just like all the other preachers, you don’t listen. God sent me here with a word for you.” ….  I had to laugh in compassion and frustration while hearing this story and it’s humbling effects on brother Wilkerson’s life because so many times I have felt just like that young man. God had put a word in my heart, an experience in my face, or an answer on my tongue for the minister or person before me, yet they would not stop speaking and start listening long enough to receive it. Some people are better at giving then receiving, when it comes to physical things that’s a great mentality to have. However, when it comes to knowledge, insight, instruction, and wisdom, it’s a character flaw to be acknowledged and dealt with. We must, at all times, and in all situations be quick to listen and slow to speak.

My grandfather was a powerful man of God, loved and revered by all. He was a pastor of 33 years, a family man, an president of a large denomination, over seeing many churches and peoples. His preaching was powerful and authoritative, his demeanor was quite and meek, and his countenance was that of reverence, integrity, and humility. He was, and still is to this day, a man greatly respected. One of the main reasons for this is because, when he was not preaching, his ears were always open and his mouth was always shut. I can’t even begin to count the times diversities of peoples have told me, “Mr. Lloyd was truly a man of few words, but when he spoke, we listened.”  Because of his character, and the integrity and wisdom that I saw in it, I have always been draw to the listeners and I have found they are always the closest to God being filled with wisdom and quiet strength. If a person will not take the time to humble themselves and listen to the lowliest among them, then they will not take the time to truly listen to God and they will fall into err, because God is always with the meek, the weak, and the lowly. Listen.

“Wherefore, my beloved brethren, let every man be swift to hear, slow to speak…” – James‬ ‭1‬:‭19‬

“Without counsel purposes are disappointed: but in the multitude of counsellors they are established.” -‭Proverbs‬ ‭15‬:‭22‬

“Hear, O My people, and I will admonish you; O Israel, if you would listen to Me.” – Psalms 81:8

Leave a Reply

