How Jesus Separated Goats from Sheep In His Ministry

sheep-goatsIt’s been said that in this life there are givers and there are takers. The same is true among the church. One sure fire way to identify a wolf in sheep’s clothing is to watch for the takers. God is love (1 John 4:16) and not just any love, but agape love. That’s to say, a true, caring, selfless, self-sacrificing, giving kind of love. Christ came to be our teacher and example, and as Christians (which means “like Christ“) we strive to be a reflection of Christ to the world even as Christ was a reflection of God to us. So sense God is love, in essence what we are really trying to be is a reflection of love to the world. Therefore, a true Christian can never be “a taker” but rather “a giver“.

In Matthew 14 many people selflessly pursued Christ, giving their all to make Him and His words their only concern and priority to the point of fasting for three days while following and listening to Jesus. When it was time for them to depart Jesus decided to bless their selfless sacrifice. Not wanting them to leave weak and hungry He preformed the miracle of the Loaves and Fishes. Soon, word got around about the blessings the faithful had received and the takers came seeking Jesus. Only unlike the previous time, they were not seeking Jesus’s face but rather, His hands. They didn’t really want Him, they wanted what He could do for them. They were not true followers of Christ, they were followers of the lust of their own flesh and wanted Him to fulfill it for them. This greatly displeased Christ and His disgust was evident by His reaction to them.

“When the people therefore saw that Jesus was not there, neither his disciples, they also took shipping, and came to Capernaum, seeking for Jesus. And when they had found him on the other side of the sea, they said unto him, Rabbi, when camest thou hither? Jesus answered them and said, Verily, verily, I say unto you, Ye seek me, not because ye saw the miracles, but because ye did eat of the loaves, and were filled. Labour not for the meat which perisheth, but for that meat which endureth unto everlasting life, which the Son of man shall give unto you: for him hath God the Father sealed. Then said they unto him, What shall we do, that we might work the works of God? Jesus answered and said unto them, This is the work of God, that ye believe on him whom he hath sent. They said therefore unto him, What sign shewest thou then, that we may see, and believe thee? what dost thou work? Our fathers did eat manna in the desert; as it is written, He gave them bread from heaven to eat. Then Jesus said unto them, Verily, verily, I say unto you, Moses gave you not that bread from heaven; but my Father giveth you the true bread from heaven. For the bread of God is he which cometh down from heaven, and giveth life unto the world. Then said they unto him, Lord, evermore give us this bread. And Jesus said unto them, I am the bread of life: he that cometh to me shall never hunger; and he that believeth on me shall never thirst. But I said unto you, That ye also have seen me, and believe not.” – John‬ ‭6‬:‭24-36‬

Jesus knew that the raw unflattering, unfluffed, unfiltered truth of God would offend those guilty of the offense and cause the goats to separate from the sheep.

“Many therefore of his disciples, when they had heard this, said, This is an hard saying; who can hear it? When Jesus knew in himself that his disciples murmured at it, he said unto them, Doth this offend you?” -John‬ ‭6‬:‭60-61‬

“From that time many of his disciples went back, and walked no more with him. Then said Jesus unto the twelve, Will ye also go away? Then Simon Peter answered him, Lord, to whom shall we go? thou hast the words of eternal life. And we believe and are sure that thou art that Christ, the Son of the living God.” – John‬ ‭6‬:‭66-69‬

So never hide discernment or sugar coat the Word of God to appease the crowds. Instead, commit to do as Christ did and always speak truth, even if it drives the masses away. Know that it’s only running the goats out of your sheepfold. Those few that stayed with Jesus that day, went on to change the world forever. God can do more with a hand full of selfless, faithful, God fearing, heart of Christ seeking people wanting to truly serve Jesus, then a multitude of selfless counterfeits wanting Jesus to serve them.

10 thoughts on “How Jesus Separated Goats from Sheep In His Ministry

  1. To be honest, then most Christians are taker goats and very few are sheep.

    Did Jesus ever teach us to have savings plans, stock portfolio’s or real estate?

    How did the original church function?

    Read on  http://wp.me/s6lyWx-about for more insight. See if you are up to what you preach yourself. 🙂  Just an innocent little test.

    And Acts 2 from verses 44-47 and Acts 4 verses 32-37.

    Like

      • OK, so did you sell your stuff, left your job, cleared out your bank accounts and left your entire family behind to follow Him?

        Like

      • He did all that for me when I almost died of Lymes Disease and was bed ridden and partially paralyzed for several years before He healed me. But I do not find my righteousness in that, nor do I think myself any more holy or deserving then one who hasn’t lost all. I don’t make law of personal instruction. What He says to one is not what He says to all. He moves for obedience, not copy cats.

        Like

      • You are not alone in medical trauma; I became disabled myself. What I am saying is that too many proclaim great faith on social media but the entire Western Christianity disobey Jesus by accumulating wealth instead of sharing what they have. Almost all trust in Mammon but proclaim Jesus. I have seen hundreds of posts like yours, coming from relatively wealthy “Christians” since February this year. Forgive my reaction as I did not know your circumstances.

        Right now, someone is playing cat & mouse with me, making big fun of my own disability and dire poverty. I grew accustomed to Christians not walking the talk. What she is doing to us right now, is beyond cruel.

        Your position when you post, so that every reader can understand you better.

        Please, next time, explain

        Like

      • The enemy attacks to cause people to harden their hearts and become bitter. He knows that unforgiveness will cost someone their soul. I have been treated very horribly by many but I separate the person from the spirit controlling them. That way my heart can break for the person and their soul while a righteous anger wells up in me against the spirit manipulating them, allowing me to intercede for them and overcome instead of being overcome. Don’t let the attacks define you and break you, let them refine you and make you. 🙂 Peace to you, I will pray for you and this dear soul you mentioned.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I am allergic to most foods, live off a $100pm ‘disability pension’ and am having terrible hot flushes and wild palpitations from the only food left in the house.

        Was bedridden for years after spinal injury, can walk but limited. Became diabetic, had several heart attacks and strokes yet never stopped spreading the Gospel.

        Someone posted a cat, a mockery of Jesus. Another is taunting me with something and what she is doing is downright cruel.

        Christ Jesus I love but Christianity is a most horrid place for the disabled to be in. Thirty years of persecution, kidnapping, arrests, assault – all becoming too much. I will never give up on Jesus but He’d save me by taking me home. I just had too much of this torture by Christians (not you!).

        Like

      • Christ was tortured too but He still gave His all for all. He said that we are no better then Him and would be hated and persecuted for His name sake but we must love and fast and pray for our enemies just as He did. Bitterness will poison the soul and the body making you sicker until it steals away all that you are in Christ. Choose to forgive and pray for those that despitefully use you and God will bring joy to your heart and health to your bones. I will pray for them with you.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I hold no grudges and I am not bitter, just extremely tired. I finally got my computer running and will go look at your profile, not easy on the phone at all. I am interested in your story and would like to hear more, as one can then learn from you and help others who may have the same. As a stroke overcomer myself, I really enjoyed watching on TV last night the story of Cory from Gettysburg who had a massive stroke while in college and how he overcame. Stories like yours are inspirational to others.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

