The Secret To Carrying The Presence Of God

bowing-down“My soul longeth, yea, even fainteth for the courts of the Lord: my heart and my flesh crieth out for the living God.” – Psalms‬ ‭84‬:‭2‬

Have you ever been in love, really in love, and the person you loved was a distance away from you for a while. You felt like you would do anything to get close to them again. You’d drive for hours if you had to, you’d prepare your house if you needed to, you’d rearrange your schedule or clear it all together, whatever it took you were going to spend some time with them. You felt like your heart would burst at the thought of not being able to just be with that person, every part of you cried out for them to be near you.  Now ask yourself, do I love God? Do I really love God? Do I love Him that much? Do I make time for Him, personal intimate time for just He and I? Do I make our time together my first concern and priority? Do I schedule my life around my time with Him or do I schedule my time with him around my life?

Having and showing the deepest love and devotion to God on a personal level is not only recommended, it is required. Not only is it commanded of us by Christ himself, but the commandment to do so is given the highest priority.

“Master, which is the great commandment in the law? Jesus said unto him, Thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind. This is the first and greatest commandment.” – Matthew‬ ‭22‬:‭36-38‬

So if we are commanded to love God more then anything or anyone else and we truly were adhering to that commandment, then why do we often put more effort into our earthly relationships and desires then our Godly ones?

We look to those in scripture and in the world today that have such powerful manifestations of God in their lives, such a close personal relationship with God and we think, “wow I wish I had that”. Well, you can. The simple truth is, you can have as much of God as you want. The question is, how much do you really want? Will you pursue Him, will you honor him with your full heart, attention, and desire? Will you make loving Him, pursuing Him, getting before Him, and spending time with Him your life’s first priority? Like you do for the one you love, when you are truly in love, real love.

“As the deer panteth after the water brooks, so panteth my soul after thee, O God. My soul thirsteth for God, for the living God: when shall I come and appear before God” – ‭Psalms‬ ‭42‬:‭1-2‬

Personal intimate time with God is the key to a life of power, presence, and authority. He will use those who are closest to Him the most, those of His inter court. You have an open invitation, you just have to love Him enough to go and find Him there at every opportunity. Unfortunately that requires us to love ourselves a little less, putting aside our fleshly wants and desires. We have to love Him and desire being with Him more then we love our selves and our wants. That’s true love, agape love, Godly love. If we take steps to do that, we will fall ever more in love with Him and He will become the desires of our heart, as we are the desire of His and His presence will reside with us always.

“He that dwelleth in the secret place of the most High shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty.” – Psalms‬ ‭91‬:‭1‬

2 thoughts on “The Secret To Carrying The Presence Of God

Leave a Reply

