“The Time of Your Life”

IMG_0924

“Whereas ye know not what shall be on the morrow. For what is your life? It is even a vapour, that appeareth for a little time, and then vanisheth away.”  -James 4:14

Death is a subject I speculate is not widely talked about or a popular topic.  Although death is as much a part of life as living, it’s not always an easy part of life to face either for yourself, or especially for loved ones.  As my wife and I recently attended, and ministered at a funeral for a childhood friend of mine, it was beyond heart-wrenching to see a frail and broken widow breaking through the verbal wailing, unrelenting cries and heavy tears as she faced her good-byes to her husband (only 32 years old).

It’s moments like these that humbly put me in my place bringing the harshest of reminders that life is not only short, but unpredictable.  Death has no bias on age, gender, nationality, or religion.  It’s been said, “Caskets are like shoes… They come in all sizes.”  We’d all like to think that when we pass, we’ll be old and gray expecting the near and unavoidable passing from this life to the next, …but unfortunately, that’s usually never the case.  Facing this reality, the Bible is abundantly clear regarding procrastinating eternal preparation:

2 Corinthians 6:2 “…Behold, now is the accepted time; behold, now is the day of salvation.”

Joshua 24:15 “…Choose ye this day whom ye will serve…”

I went home that day with such a somber, humble spirit appreciating not only the time I have left living, but everything my wife has and continues to do and be for me.  I would not be near the minister today had it not been for her, and God’s divine hand on my life.  It was then having already made my decision for Christ, I made an additional decision with my time taking it even further to be more expressive of that appreciation.  My wife and I went out that night and invested some of the best time we’ve ever had together, even comparing it to the time we spent together recently on vacation!  Furthermore, I then saw my Jesus looking into my eyes through the eyes of my wife.  (yeah it was pretty powerful)  I need to take that same revelation for my earthly relationships, but apply that as well to my heavenly one!

Additionally, when my mother passed at the age of 56 in a tragic house fire in 2011, it too had a learning experience in my life. I collided head first with regrets to the highest level of times I should have visited her, things that I said to her or didn’t say to her, and everything you could imagine.  We have to live life in such you won’t ever face a casket broken hearted with unbearable tears of regret for either things you’ve done, said, or many times, …the things you didn’t do.  Life is truly too short to live in bitterness, unforgiveness, unappreciation, and ungratefulness.  Which brings me to my closing point:

You only have one life to live; Christ chose to give His for you with no regret… Don’t chose to live your life for yourself only to live in regret for all eternity.  (It’s never worth it.)  The Bible tells us that after death there is no more time; that’s it.  There are no waiting rooms, no prayers from other people left on earth to save us… Just you and God, and you to give an account for your life.  No Jesus?  or Know Jesus!  I recommend the latter.  It’s only through Him, and Him ALONE!

Hebrews 9:27  “And as it appointed unto men once to die, but after this, the judgement.”

Mark 8:36  “For what shall it profit a man, if he shall gain the whole world, and lose his own soul?”

John 14:6  “Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.”

God’s redemptive offering was given to rebellious mankind by way of the sacrifice of His Son Jesus Christ!  It was a price we owed, but could not pay.  If you haven’t prepared your soul for eternity, I implore you today to make your life ready.  Whether you never asked Christ to forgive you of your sins and make Him the Lord of your life, or you have rebelled and went the way of the prodigal, make Him the Lord of your life today!

Prayer:  “Dear heavenly Father, I ask that you in the name of Jesus Christ forgive me of all my sin, and wash me clean from the inside out!  I make you King and Lord over my life!  Help me to take every second of my life to the fulness in the wonders of your grace and Holy Spirit!  Help me to love you above all, and love all those around me the same way that you love them!  Use me to the fullest to fulfill your will in my life, and others around me!  Thank you Jesus for saving me, delivering me, and filling me with your Holy Spirit.  I ask all these things in the most precious name above all names, Jesus Christ, Amen!”

Leave a Reply

