If You Hold Steadfast!

holdfast

Take heed, brethren, lest there be in any of you an evil heart of unbelief, in departing from the living God. But exhort one another daily, while it is called today; lest any of you be hardened through the deceitfulness of sin. For we are made partakers of Christ, if we hold the beginning of our confidence stedfast unto the end;”  -Hebrews 3:12-14

This is such a powerful statement!  You can really dig in this short passage.  Take notice that the writer of Hebrews, (whom by many believe to be Paul the Apostle, however not certain), is addressing believers to examine their hearts for any unbelief that snuck in through the craftiness of sin.  Not only that, he is saying we need to exhort one another every single day in God’s Word; which at times will include a Holy Spirit led rebuke out of love for correction and reproof.  (2 Timothy 3:15-17)  In addition, this passage ends with the emphasis on persistence.  It’s not enough to start strong, it’s about FINISHING strong!

You can look at this in 3 parts:

1.)  Sin will not only deceive you, but birth unbelief in your heart, even subconsciously.

2.)  We are to edify the body of Christ daily!  Whether that calls for a word of encouragement or even a word of correction.  (See:  2 Timothy 2:15; 4:1-5, Galatians 6:1, James 5:20, Proverbs 29:15, Luke 17:3-4, 1 Corinthians 5:12 …So yes, making judgment calls based on the standards of God’s Word, solely motivated in love, is Biblical so long as you aren’t doing it with the “plank” in your own eye.)

3.)  Don’t quit!  The Bible is abundantly clear that it’s only those that endure to the end that shall be saved.  (Matthew 24:13)  Salvation is free, but it’s not cheap.  It will cost you your whole life of service to God in holiness and righteousness (Romans 12:1-2, 2 Corinthians 6:17, 7:1, Proverbs 28:13, Romans 6:1-2)

Prayer:

“Heavenly Father God, I come to you in the name of your Son, Jesus Christ, and I ask that if there be any evil in me, may you purge me of it and cleanse me from all unrighteousness or unbelief.  Fill me with your Holy Spirit, and wash me clean to consume me with your Holy fire from heaven above to make me acceptable in your sight.  Strip me of myself, and be my thoughts, my actions, my breath, …my very life.  I remove myself from the throne of my own heart and place you number one in my life.  Take me and use me in every way that you desire!  In Jesus name I pray, AMEN!”

Leave a Reply

